The Legal Requirements of Boating
Who May Operate a Vessel In The State of Florida
To operate a vessel powered by a motor of 10 horsepower or greater (including
PWCs), a person who was born on or after January 1, 1988, must have
completed a boater education course approved by the National Association of
State Boating Law Administrators (NASBLA) or passed an approved equivalency
No one under 14 years of age may operate any PWC on Florida
waters at any time, even if such person possesses a Boating
Safety Education ID Card.
No one under the age of 18 years may rent/lease a PWC.
It is also illegal for the owner of a PWC to knowingly
allow a person under 14 years of age to operate a PWC.
The United States Coast Guard Auxiliary
offers instructor lead NASBLA approved Boating Education Courses. To
find the the nearest class and available dates,
please follow this link.